What Do I Write? aka Open Post #1

bea

“Choice isn’t choice unless you know what your options are!” -Janet Allen

Some find the open post liberating and some find it limiting.  The hardest part for most people is that they don’t know what to write about when they have free choice.  I’ve found this to be true for you, my college students as well as my high school students.  In the past students have posted their flogs (food video blog), travelog, poetry, fashion advice, movie suggestions and more.  For my open posts, I’ve written about spring-hopping, foodie Fridays and celebrate Sundays. I often revert to a listicle when I can’t figure out what to write.   When students get comfortable blogging, you will be amazed by what they choose to share a poem, a short story, a song, a video (food vlog), a photo-essay, or a puzzle. I’ve also read advice about teaching.   Blogging is a place for students to practice craft, read other writers and work with a digital community of writers.  Ultimately it can became a place for them to share their interests and and grow their expertise. Having this space makes them them more comfortable with academic writing and with each other.    This is a space for you to practice the habit of writing and nurturing other writers. I can’t wait to read what you share.

 

 

28 thoughts on “What Do I Write? aka Open Post #1

Leave a Reply

