Fall into Digital Writing

fALLAlthough I have been using digital tools with my 14 year old writers systematically in my class room since 2007, I didn’t venture onto the web to a larger audience with my students until 2012. I created my first blog in March 2011.  I didn’t write on it for a year.   Then in March 2012, a friend challenged me to  join the Slice of Life Daily Writing Challenge and I met the challenge, 30 days of blogging and commenting on three other bloggers each day. I have met this challenge for the past 4 years.  My first challenge inspired me to then collaborate with my critical teaching friend and a dean to create a two week blogging challenge for my ninth graders.  From there I expanded the practice, first to my graduate students and then to my undergraduate students, which explains why you are reading this now.   The good new is that you aren’t the first group of students to step up to this challenge.  I do, however, that each community of writers who attends to this challenge is unique.

Your challenge this fall is to create and maintain a blog and participate in a digital writing community.  Our work is to uncover the work of digital writing, the power of a virtual writing community and figure out how this could work with your future students.  Part of your challenge will be setting aside the time to write. Part of your challenge will be letting go of finding the perfect words and the perfectly composed piece.  Part of your challenge will committing to responding to others.  Each journey is different, but you will finish. That I do know.  What you do after that is up to you.

So this week, create your blog, write your introduction, and link up!

If you don’t know where to start, check out these posts by former students:

Cindy or Brian or Catherine or Embree or Daniel or Ally

38 thoughts on “Fall into Digital Writing

  1. Hello,
    Thank you for allowing us this opportunity to express ourselves in an online format. This is something that I am not very familiar with, and I am looking forward to communicating with others in a digital community. I would love to continue this type of writing through a daily writing prompt, or something similar to simply allow myself some time for creative thought each day.
    Check out my blog at the following link: https://audragreuel.wordpress.com/2016/08/31/blog/
    Sincerely,
    Audra Greuel

    • Hi Karina,

      Wow Karina! Way to go! I am impressed! Your Blog is energetic and impressive. I love your quote, “Bloom where you are planted!” Life does have its ups and downs, and I must agree seeing the best in difficult situations can help us get through those not so pleasant experiences.

      Tomie

Leave a Reply

